Two Months (& 12 Days!)

Two Months (& 12 Days!)

Ahhh I can’t believe Miss Eva is two months already! And actually 2 months and 10 days because Mommy is so slow…

I am so in love with our little girl and can’t believe how fast she’s growing! I think in the day-to-day I don’t notice it, but looking back at her one month post, I can definitely see how quickly she’s progressing and truly is no longer a little newborn!

Some newborn things Eva’s outgrown so far: spending most of the time with her eyes closed, opening only one eye to check things out (ahh this was so cute… so sad!), crying during diaper changes and she can last most onesie changes now without hollering (PTL for this one!), happily spending tons of time in the Rock N Play, all her adorable newborn clothes!

This past month has been so much fun and praise be to God so much easier too haha.

Things I want to remember/treasure:

  • Smiling and babbling sooo much now! She LOVES her morning changing pad time when she smiles and babbles away. Looking forward to her and Daddy spending their mornings together while night owl Mommy gets some sleep!!
  • SOOOO active!! Grandma calls her a wiggle worm and says she’s more active than all the kids and grandkids so far. Constantly moving all 4 limbs. Loves looking around at new places/things/lights (haha). Super strong neck. Always trying to push off you when you hold her.
  • No longer wants to be held like a baby. Wants to be held straight up, preferably over the shoulder so she can easily look around.
  • She’s like a little firefly– loves looking at lights, especially fluorescent ones. Thoroughly enjoyed her first time at the church office as they have 10x more lights than our apartment kitchen.
  • Also likes looking outside, but not actually going outside. Once we actually go out whether it’s in the carrier or stroller, she always looks bored or closes her eyes.
  • Spends a ton of time in her carriers and will usually knock out in them after a while. Enjoys getting one arm out of the Moby though.
  • Doing better at being on her own. I think she’s realizing I’m the sucker who will always pick her up though. She does better when Daddy’s watching her and she’s on her back, but I feel like she always cries when I try to put her down.
  • Nursing better too PTL. No longer snacking every hour since I started forcing her to wait 2-3 hours before eating again.
  • Personality-wise, she definitely loves looking at new people and places, but goes to sleep when there’s lots of commotion. I think she might be an introvert as she gets overstimulated pretty easily? (Though the church moms say all babies at this age go to sleep when there’s a lot of commotion.) She does love to babble at lot though… maybe she will be like me haha. Quiet and introverted when out, but super talkative at home. If that’s the case, all I can say is, poor Daddy!! She also continues to be pretty sassy. She has a complaining/scolding cry and has no problem reminding you that you’ve upset her, so even after you’ve taken measures to calm her down, she’ll let out a little yelp a few moments later just to make sure you remember how upset you made her.
  • Nana and Papa watched her a couple Saturdays now, so Mommy and Daddy had our first dates! (Ramen & 85 Degrees, Target & Souplantation) Sooo nice to have a couple hours of reconnecting and also working out some of the disagreements we’ve been too tired to fully discuss haha. Definitely wouldn’t want to do any of this with anyone else!!!
  • Settled into a bit of a sleep schedule. We put her down anywhere from 8:30-10 and she’ll sleep until 2-3am. Feed her once, then put her down (or fall asleep… been trying so hard to not do this!). Then she tends to wake up every 1-2 hours from then on. I just realized too she doesn’t need to feed every time so she’s just waking up for comfort. Will try to sleep train that out this upcoming month.
  • Had her first cold!! We took her to the kids urgent care on a Sunday. No idea where it came from as we hadn’t taken her out much. It was only upper respiratory congestion though so she was fine PTL!
  • I got the stomach flu somehow. It was awful and probably the most sick I’ve been since January 2013 (or was it 14?). Had a fever and could barely get out of bed! Kenny stayed home and took care of Miss Eva for an entire day. She loved it!
  • Lots of firsts for outings: walked to get poke and boba, met up with Christine & Kaydence (before she was born!) for first friend date lunch, PIHOP, first visits to both sets of grandparents’ houses, visited Kristen Yee/Chow in Arcadia, Mother’s Day with both sides of  the family, Sharing Night at BSF
  • First new friend Kaydence was born almost exactly 2 months after Miss Eves and was almost exactly the same size– only 1 inch shorter! Showed Eva a picture and she smiled!
  • Shots on 2 month birthday. Sooo hard. Poor baby was so happy before the shots. Thankful pharmacist Kristie was visiting right before on that day and measured out the baby Tylenol and gave her recommendations! Nurse quickly gave Eva all 3 shots. She paused, stopped breathing, her face turned red, and a few moments later started wailing. Ahhh broke my heart. Had a hard time napping and eating the next couple days. Grandma came to help the next day :(

I’m sure there’s many other things and I should really keep track of them during the month otherwise I forget. Plus I’m 10 days behind with this post, so I feel like there are things I’m thinking of that didn’t happen from March 11-April 11, but I’m not sure. Will add more if I remember.

 

Overall, this past month has definitely been easier! We’re getting into a routine and finding a rhythm. There will be certain days that are especially hard, and overall I still have this general fog and tiredness, but it’s getting better! I’m thinking that this (fog, more tired than before [seriously– I used to think I was tired… bahahahaha!!) might be the new normal, and I’m figuring out too how to pursue the Lord and pursue others as He leads in this season.

I’ve been starting to think more too about parenting and how I want to parent Eva and disciple her to pursue Jesus. I realized (and it still brings me to tears) that at a minimum, if we all live to an average age (again, this is all Lord willing and also not considering that maybe we’ll all be alive when He comes back!!), baby girl will be living at least a third of her life without Kenny and me. That impresses on me even more the need to lead her to Jesus and show her how to follow Him. And even in the years we do have together, I know I’m going to mess up so much. And I know I won’t be able to be there for her all the time. I mean even now when we are physically in the same location 98% of the time, I can’t tend to her every need. Only Jesus can perfectly help her and guide her and be with her 100% of the time in the exact way she needs in this life.

This life is just a breath. And I want to use every last second of the life I have left to show my baby girl that the only thing worth pursuing is Jesus. So how do I do that even now? Even when she’s a tiny babe? Because even though it might not seem like it, she’s learning and I’m sowing seeds into her life even now.

Do the things I do and pursue show her that it’s so good to follow Jesus? Or does she see that I’m more interested in my phone, browsing social media or the web or texting? When something happens that upsets me, do I stop and pray and ask for help? When something terrific and exciting happens, do I stop and give thanks and praise to Jesus? In the conversations I have, am I saying things that lead others to Christ? Or am I subtly puffing up myself, trying to get them to like me or think I’m great? Am I cutting others down either to their face or behind their backs? Am I talking about things that matter or about things that are frivolous? What am I approving of by not correcting or speaking the truth even when it’s hard?

I guess with little eyes and ears around, I’m being forced to re-examine myself. Something our COO said at my work baby shower stands out:

Kids will learn far more from your actions than your words.

I want to show her with my life, not just my words, that it is so good to follow Jesus– to live life with Him, for Him, and in His way.

So like I said, I think this month God has been reminding me of my own brevity as uncomfortable as it may be. But the good thing is it’s getting me to examine my parenting and integrity. I want to live for what matters. And if I won’t do it for Jesus or myself (though as the Lord sanctifies me hopefully I’ll be doing it for more of Him!!), then I want to do it for Eva. So she can live a life that matters. Because how sad would it be for her to live an amazing life, but to do so without Jesus?

Anyway, this is kind of ending on a somber/sobering note. So I also want to note, if you can’t tell from all the points above, that being Eva’s mom is also so joy-filled. I adore her more and more every day and take so much delight in being her mother!

And to hopefully capture just a fraction of that joy, here are my favorites from month 2:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

