37 Weeks

37 Weeks

What a week it’s been! Definitely started out maternity leave at a very fast pace. It’s been fun, but glad that things have been slowing down the last few days!

Stayed with my parents Friday night through Monday while Kenny was at the Seeds leadership retreat. It was a lot of fun being a “kid” again haha and my amazing parents were so helpful in getting TONS of baby laundry done, overfeeding me, and taking me shopping! Did a lot of shopping walking (the best kind!), so I’ll be proud to report again tomorrow that I exercised more than usual this week!

Monday night I met up with Erika since I ended up canceling Friday. We decided this will be our last dship until June ish after baby Yee is out. Kind of sad, but I’m pretty sure the break is necessary haha and it’ll be nice to pick up again during the summer when everything else dies down schedule-wise.

And on that note, dship has been SUCH a blessing. As I mentioned before (I think), the last time I discipled anyone was almost 6 years ago!! Can’t believe it’s been that long. I think because it didn’t end on the best note and I was discouraged about not seeing as much fruit as I wanted, I had been very resistant to the idea of close-up life-on-life ministry. But God is so faithful and after MONTHS of putting Erika on my heart, He gave me the push I needed and I unexpectedly asked her if she wanted to be discipled. Funny thing is a couple weeks later, Pastor Kyle did a series on dship and it was affirmation for me that this is where God wanted me.

And it’s been such a joy! Sure, a lot of times I am tired especially with the baby, but the time almost always goes by so quickly and I leave so encouraged by God’s help and by Erika’s hunger for Him.

The biggest difference this go ’round? I think in the past 6 years God has taught me soooo much about dependence on Him and not doing things out of my own strength. In the past, I relied so much on myself to do ministry.  I relied on my own strength, I relied on what had worked in the past. I relied on my own knowledge and I was prideful because I felt I had done a good job in ministry before. So when things got hard and I didn’t see fruit, I became discouraged and felt bad about myself thinking “where did I go wrong?” and I also got frustrated with the girls. Why weren’t they thankful? Why weren’t they growing? Why didn’t they try harder?

I think all of that has taught me that anything I do in ministry MUST be motivated and powered by Jesus. For one,  God has humbled me and I don’t think I’m nearly as great anymore haha. In fact, I’ve come to realize I’m actually pretty terrible at shepherding. In my flesh, I’m selfish, I’m lazy, I’m flaky, I people-please and don’t correct… the list goes on. And secondly, there is NOTHING I can do to change people. Yes, I can point them in the right direction and be faithful to what God gives me to say to them, but true change can only come from Jesus. My only job is to be faithful to love and point them in His direction, then true lasting fruit, true change, can only come from the Holy Spirit working within.

So anyway that’s huge tangent.

Monday after dship I watched Kenny’s bball game. Figured this might be one of the last ones I go to for a while. Must say, I am so proud of my husband. There was a “situation” after the game and I was so proud of the way he handled it. As much as my husband may be a goofball and say ridiculous things, I think God has gifted him with incredible wisdom and discernment and the ability to be very direct with others in a way that’s loving/tactful. God has given him the ability to lead and I think that’s why people are drawn to him and often want to put him in leadership positions. I hope this isn’t bragging because we KNOW this only comes from Jesus and Kenny’s definitely come a long way haha, but just wanted to throw out some affirmation to my husband.

It was also so much fun to be in Mr. Yee’s classroom on Friday. His kids love him SO MUCH and he has such a great rapport with them. His classes are very interactive (on that note, I would’ve DIED being in his class as someone who pretty much never talked in class haha) and lively. Definitely made me realize I could never be a teacher (or at least not teach in the same style as him…) and now I know why he’s so tired at the end of each day and has such a hard time listening to me– we estimated that his name was called AT LEAST 100 times during the day!

Okay, jumping all around. Blame the preggo brain.

Tuesday was also tons of fun! Drove back out to Walnut for a Grandma Shower that my mom’s BSF leaders put on for her. It was so fun to meet them and see them honor my mom who pours out so much of herself into leading BSF every week. And it was a total surprise, which I think is quite a feat! I’m also blown away by how generous people have been with us in getting ready for the baby!! These women who at least I don’t even know showered our baby soooo generously.

Kenny and I talked about it last night. I realized recently that out of all the couples in our married couple group, we probably make the least BY FAR. And I like to think it’s not because we’re incompetent haha, but because of life decisions we have made with the Lord. And as much as we might be the lowest earning couple, there truly has been no lack in our lives by the grace of God. He provided us with an apartment that’s charging far below market value for rent. He’s given us TONS of baby hand-me-downs through church and Kenny’s sister. And He has showered us through our incredibly generous community with tons of new baby things (diapers, wipes for days, clothing, toys, and many other baby items). There truly is no lack. And yes, maybe it’s partially because we have walked in obedience to God following His leading for things like career, but even moreso it’s simply because He is so good and gracious

We talked last night too about sin and how both of us have fallen so short of God’s standard in so many different ways. We, or mostly I, confessed some things to Kenny about my own heart’s darkness that I hadn’t even shared before. And as we shared, I was just blown away by God’s grace. We are so undeserving. We do not deserve a second chance, let alone chances upon chances above that. Yet God, being rich in mercy, has chosen to forgive us and not only forgive us, but bless us beyond measure.

All right, like I said, jumping all over haha. Tuesday I also got to hang with Deb for a tiny bit (hopefully more to come pre-baby!), then closed out the night with BSF.

As for today, the plan is haircut soon, then clean clean clean clean and organize. Our place is a DISASTER. This morning I kid you not my prayer was for God to help me clean up haha. Also, got the labor bag and other things partially ready, but I also want to buy labor-approved snacks (apple sauce, jello, clear broth, plain pasta) as we get ready for the big day. On that note, okay def TMI but whatever I have no shame anymore, I think I saw part of the “mucus plug” this morning haha. Which means labor could be hours… or days… or a week away. But still! I’m excited to meet our baby. Only two more weeks til her due date!!!

How am I feeling?

For being almost full term, I’d say pretty darn good and actually a lot better than some weeks in the past! I just can’t believe we are ~2 weeks away!! And again, as much as I’m thankful to be pregnant, I am also SOOO excited to NOT be anymore. No more waddling! No more being out of breath all the time! No more hip pain (hopefully)! Much less acid reflux! I am so excited that this time in a few weeks there will no longer be a person inside of me hahaha.

And overall I’m just filled with excitement and anticipation. I cannot wait to meet our new little person. I think I’m trying to be fairly realistic too in that I know it’s going to be really hard and will not be all peachy and rosy and there may be times of even despairing, so I’m trying to prepare well spiritually so I can be as close to Jesus as I can heading into the next season.

What is God saying?

So I think I covered a lot above.

Biggest development is what I talked about last update how I think I’m finally able to understand and accept a tiny bit more God’s justice and mercy and how they work in tandem and both are demonstrations of His perfect and holy character.

Going to Evergreen on Sunday was also really good. Pastor Cory talked about repentance and confession and how death is an essential part of Christian living. He talked about how confession and repentance are now lost arts in the church and how as a community we are meant to celebrate both together. The church should be a place of corporate repentance and rejoicing over it, but instead we fail to confess our sins to one another because of pride and shame.

We fail to repent because shame has replaced joy.

We are so ashamed of our sins and of our past that we are paralyzed and unable to confess to one another and sometimes even to confess to God. Instead we want to stay in places of guilt and even feel like that’s what we deserve.

And at other times, we don’t repent simply because it doesn’t cross our mind to. We’re myopic when it comes to our own sin.

Repentance is essential to growth. Something must die before something new rises in its place.

I’ve been thinking about repentance and confession lately and how both are essential because they keep us dependent. They keep us in a state of being aware of how much we sin thus how much we need Him. And in turn, as we become increasingly aware of how much we sin, we grow even more in awe of His love and grace.

I’m reminded of this beautiful Tim Keller quote Duhee uses often at BSF:

The gospel is this: We are more sinful and flawed in ourselves than we ever dared believe, yet at the very same time we are more loved and accepted in Jesus Christ than we ever dared hope.

How amazing, how beautiful it is to live in God’s grace and to be forgiven!

Lord, help me to grow in my confession and repentance and to never take for granted Your extravagant grace. Amen!!

Leave a Reply

