The Problem of & Solution for Sin

The Problem of & Solution for Sin

Why is sin so bad?

Sin directly opposes what God is doing and engages our heart with the enemy. God is holy– holy, holy, holy. If any good and righteousness in us comes from Him, then He cannot engage with us when we are steeped in choosing sin.

So what is the solution?

The solution is miraculously simple!! The solution is simply to surrender, turn to the King, depend on Him for holiness.

The solution isn’t do better, try harder, not by our own effort.

The solution is simple: take a posture of repentance and surrender. Surrender is easy! In a battle, the easiest choice is to surrender. The solution to sin is simple: simply confess and surrender.

We are not saved by the flesh and cannot be perfected by it– what was begun by the Spirit cannot be continued by the flesh. So surrender! Give into God’s mercy and grace! Boast in your weaknesses. Take on a posture of humility and dependence. Depend on God to give you His holiness.

“Are you so foolish? Having begun by the Spirit, are you now being perfected by the flesh?”

Galatians 3:3

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

1 John 1:9

“Therefore, confess your sins to one another and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person has great power as it is working.”

James 5:16

Response

I want to despise sin as much as You do, Lord God! For it is sin that keeps me from experiencing more of You, from loving You, from loving others as You do. Sin keeps me from You and renders me useless for Your Kingdom and Your purposes. Give me a desire for holiness, give me a desire for You.

I want to crave holiness. So search my heart and see if there is any way not of You in me. I give You permission to call me out and rid me of my sin. I do away with the excuses I conjure up to explain and justify and dismiss my sin. I do away with excuses of brokenness (other people have sinned against me and hurt me, therefore I can act out of brokenness and not forgive, have a hard heart toward them, and justify many other types of sin), personality (I’m just not wired that way, that’s not my gifting, I’m just better at other stuff, therefore I can sin in a certain way because it’s just a part of who I am), legalism (I just want to focus on grace, it’s so legalistic to ask for such fervency and holiness, I’m walking in grace and hey I’m trying so it’s okay for me to still choose sin).

I do away with my excuses, Lord! Call me out. Purify me. Rid me of my sin.

Lastly, I will end with some quotes from Leonard Ravenhill from his book “Why Revival Tarries” (an excellent readbtw, let me know if you’d like to join Kenny and me in reading and Book Club it!):

“…but to be much for God, we must be much with God.”

“A sinning man will stop praying, and a praying man will stop sinning. ”

“The brutal, soul-shaking truth is that we are so earthly minded we are of no heavenly use.”

“Unless we are desperate to get into real victory, we are so easy on ourselves and so hard on others… Let us invite the searching eye of God to locate this corrupted, spotted, stinking Self in us. Let it be torn from us and “crucified with Him, (so) that henceforth we no longer serve sin” (Romans 6:6).”

Leave a Reply

