Thoughts

Thoughts

I’ve had a lot of thoughts lately. I feel like it’s been a season of having a lot of wise words/knowledge poured into me without a lot of time to think/reflect/process.

Sorry for the incoherency (it doesn’t help that I’ve lost my ability to reflectively write!), but here are some thoughts:

You have a lot of reason to be afraid, but you don’t have to be.

Fear. There’s so much fear in my life, but so often fear of the wrong things. Often I see a lack of action as more holy than taking action, as how can you ever be 100% sure of God’s will? But when a lack of action is the result of fear, it can often reveal a lack of trust in God and disobedience from a heart that says I’m not willing to take a step in that direction because I want control and I don’t trust You.

Do nothing out of selfish ambition or vain conceit. Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of others. In your relationships with one another, have the same mindset as Christ Jesus: who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be used to His own advantage; rather, He made Himself nothing by taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness.

-Philippians 2:3-7

Then there’s this idea of humility. Being laid low. Submission. Willingly and gladly placing yourself under authority. As Pastor Mark Driscoll said, pride says who I am and what I’m doing is more important than you. Humility is placing another, be it God or another person, about yourself. It’s desiring to live your life for someone other than you.

M: I love how you always pray with expectancy.
K: Well why would you pray if you don’t expect anything to happen?

Pray with expectancy. Pray often. Pray about everything. Pray like a child. May my most honest pray simply be, “Help!”

Many many many thoughts.

Lord, help me to process them. And help me most of all to just love You.

Leave a Reply

