Friendship with the World

Friendship with the World

I’m seeing more and more how friendship with the world is so detrimental to following Christ. Seriously. One weekend of living pretty blatantly as the world lives (for self, for pleasure, for food even) made walking with the Lord so difficult this week. And it’s not to say that the activities are necessarily wrong or bad or that Christians shouldn’t participate in such things, it’s just the condition my heart ended up in at the weekend’s conclusion that made things so difficult.

But thank You, Jesus, for grace. Thank You for letting me get sick to the stomach (literally) and then drawing me back into Yourself. Help me to spurn friendship with the world. I want nothing to do with it! Please keep my heart soft toward the things of Your Kingdom. It’s sooooo easy to get sucked into living for myself. Everything I’m surrounded with beckons me to live a life of comfort, indulgence, of self-righteousness, of straight up selfishness.

You adulterous people, don’t you know that friendship with the world means enmity against God? Therefore, anyone who chooses to be a friend of the world becomes an enemy of God.

-James 4:4

James ain’t addressing the lost when he says “adulterous people,” He’s addressing the Saints!

May we remember who we are in Christ and ask God daily for the help and desire to keep ourselves unstained by the world!!

As KY says, “Keep on keepin’ on!” And may we walk by faith knowing that even greater riches lay ahead.

Leave a Reply

