23 (Cont’d)

23 (Cont’d)

So I ended up staying up thanks to dear family/friends. I’ll probably be dying at work tomorrow, but ohhh well. (:

Thinking back, the last year has certainly been one of the hardest years of my life. Probably the second worst (a close second though), all things considered.

But what can I say? The Lord is truly truly good and in the midst of this past year’s struggles, I’ve seen a harvest of righteousness in my life. I say this not to boast in myself (really… there’s nothing to boast of; from this past year another thing I’ve seen is that I am absolutely helpless and hopeless apart from God!), but to boast in the power of the Gospel to transform hardship into harvest in the lives of those who believe.

I could go into details, but now’s not the time. Let’s just say that I am absolutely certain that what Romans 5:3-5 says is true:

“…but we also rejoice in our suffering, knowing that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope; and hope does not disappoint, because the love of God has been poured out within our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.”

We can have great hope in the midst of every situation, knowing that 1) this earth is not our home and one day its troubles will have absolutely nothing on the future glory revealed to us (Romans 8:18), and 2) the Holy Spirit is in the heart of every believer, equipping us with the very character of Christ to persevere and live life fully (regardless of circumstances) until He comes back or we return home.

23 and finding my strength in Christ. Pledging to live this life for Him, through the freedom to do so that’s been purchase by His blood.

The end.

…or the beginning?

Hahaha. So corny.

<3

Soli Deo Gloria
to God alone be the glory

Reading: How People Grow by Dr. Henry Cloud and Dr. John Townsend (Such a good resource especially for those interested in Christian counseling. I’ve had to read it so slowly though– there’s so many good/deep thoughts!)
Leave a Reply

