Keep Saving Me

Keep Saving Me

Got back from China on Friday!

Amazing experience. Amazing lessons. Amazing God.

Yet… here I am. Back in the States. Doing the same exact things I was doing before I left. Sitting around. Bored. Lazy. And longing after the things of this world.

Oh heart. How is it possible that in less than a week you would forget? Forget how good it is to meet with God every morning and night? Forget how fulfilling it is to live for Him, asking for spiritual eyes for each new day?

In China, God really taught me what it means to live a fasted life (quite literally sometimes too haha), fighting to maintain that hunger for Him. He showed me how I let my heart get fat by letting it feast on its whims and desires, on the things of this world.

So here I am. In the same place as I was before! Wanting, missing, desiring, and dreaming about the things of this world.

There is such a way which seems right to a man,
But its end is the way of death.
-Proverbs 14:12

Please help me, God. I FAIL. My heart is so fickle. But I KNOW Yours is steadfast.

The steadfast heart of God. Definitely one of the themes of the trip.

Help me, O God. For I know that all these desires are really just indicative of a greater, misplaced longing for You.

Fear the Lord and turn away from evil.
It will be healing to your body
And refreshment to your bones.
-Proverbs 3:7-8

Jesus, keep saving me.

On a side note, I’ve MAJOR jet lag. Blah. I miss China! But at the same time, I am very thankful for the U.S.A.

Reading: A Hunger for God by John Piper (awesome read while on missions!)
Leave a Reply

