Video

“You Will Never Walk Alone” hula from the New hope halau (starts at 6 minutes… didn’t watch the first half, but might later).

Was reminded of this song (couldn’t upload the Point of Grace version because my file’s an MP4 instead of MP3 or something like that?) as I was sitting around, listening to break-up songs, feeling sorry for myself.

But praise God for He reminded me of a verse I read this morning:

Let my tongue sing of Your word,
For all Your commandments are righteousness.
-Psalm 119:172

My conviction this morning was that I’ve been filling my head with remorseful thoughts over what happened, partially through secular music.

In a reading we did for missions, Piper urged the memorization of scripture because it fills our heads with Godly thoughts! Similarly, CJ Mahaney challenges us to talk to ourselves about the Gospel! To paraphrase him, we spend most of the day listening to ourselves and our sin nature, when what we should be doing is talking to ourselves, urging ourselves to turn toward God and REJOICE in the Good News!

And what beautiful news it is.

(Side note: I should start dancing hula again.)

You will never walk alone
As long as you have faith
Jesus will be right beside you all the way
And you may feel you’re far from home
But home is where He is
And He’ll be there down every road
You will never walk alone

Jesus knows your joy, Jesus knows your need
He will go the distance with you faithfully

I love what the song says of Jesus: He’ll be there down EVERY road. He daily walks with me, even when I choose not to walk with Him. He died to set me free. He died so that I could be with Him!

And again, I’m reminded, that every time my heart feels a longing, what really I’m longing for is more of Him.

Thanking God so much for the Gospel, which is hope to all who believe.

He is a shield about me and He promises to work all of this, yes even this, out for my and His good.

My help comes from the Lord,
Who made heaven and earth.
He will not allow your foot to slip;
He who keeps you will not slumber.
-Psalm 121:2-3

Leave a Reply

