Focus

Focus

On top of all this… ANOTHER thing?? Sure it’s something small, but I feel like I’m at the tipping point of frustration and anger.

But this morning as I was brooding around the apartment, I was reminded of something simple that I was told yesterday: just focus on God.

Just focus on loving God and all else will fall into place. That’s one of the few things I remember from college group at Evergreen the summer before my freshman year. It’s so simple! Look to Him, not anyone or anything else, and EVERYTHING will fall into place.

Having trouble loving people? Love Him first, be loved by Him, and His love will overflow into them.

Having trouble forgiving? Be reminded of how much He has forgiven us, how freeing that is, and ask Him for His strength to forgive.

Having trouble letting go? Look to Him and be reminded that in HIM we have “every good thing”– there’s nothing we need to hold on to when we’re fully satisfied in Him.

“Then the virgin will rejoice in the dance,
And the young man and old together
For I will turn their mourning into joy
And will comfort them and give them joy for their sorrow.
I will fill the soul of the priests with abundance,
And my people will be satisfied with my goodness,”
declares the Lord.
-Jeremiah 31:13-14

Can’t say I’m not still stewing a bit in frustration, but as I read the Psalms this morning, God revealed to me the heart of a Psalmist: to be pressed on all sides, yet still going to God with praise and thanksgiving.

Aside from all that, I thank God so much for being able to hang out with Deborah last night.

Oh. And jerk that I am I filed my first noise complaint! Haha… yeah kinda sucks but they were being SUPER loud.

It is good to give thanks to the Lord
And to sing praises to Your name, O Most High;
To declare Your lovingkindness in the morning
And Your faithfulness by night…
For You, O Lord, have made me glad by what You have done,
I will sing for joy at the works of Your hands.
-Psalm 92:1-2, 4

Reading:  My Father’s Keeper by Stefan and Norbert Lebert
Leave a Reply

